No Legal Advice Intended, This website includes general information about legal issues and developments in the law. Such materials are for informational purposes only. These informational materials are not intended, and must not be taken, as legal advice on any particular set of facts or circumstances. You need to contact a lawyer licensed in your jurisdiction for advice on specific legal issues or problems. Use of this site or review of the content does not create an attorney-client privilege. You will become a client of the Kurdek Law Office, PLLC only if and when you sign and engagement agreement setting forth the scope of the Firm’s engagement, the fee arrangement and other relevant matters. As a matter of policy, the Firm does not accept a new client without first investigating for possible conflicts of interests and obtaining a signed engagement letter.

New Hampshire Hands-Free Law

On July 1, 2015 New Hampshire's Hands-Free Law went into effect. What this means:

  • No use of hand-held electronic devices capable of providing voice or data communication while driving or temporarily halted in traffic for a stop sign or traffic signal or other momentary delays This includes cell phones, GPS, tablets, iPods, iPads or other devices that require data entry
  • Emergency calls to 911 or other public safety agencies will be allowed
  • Bluetooth or other hands-free electronic devices will be allowed
  • One hand non-cellular 2-way radio use will be allowed
  • Teen drivers under the age of 18 will not be allowed to use any electronic devices (hand-held or not) except to report an emergency. Anyone violating this will be subject to penalties and license suspension or revocation.
  • Penalties for Violations
  • 1st Offense - $100 fine
  • 2nd Offense - $250 fine
  • 3rd Offense within 2 years - $500 fine

Follow this link to read hb 1360 in its final version: http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/legislation/2014/HB1360.html

Copyright Kurdek Law Office. All rights reserved.